Company overview

Business, legal identity, ownership structure and classifications.

What the company does

About

Alpha's canonical identity and public leadership record for Vertex Pharmaceuticals.

Sector and industry values retain their source labels. A classification provider, taxonomy version and assignment date are not established unless the cited record states them.

Stable business record

Identity and status

Ownership and listing state

Public listing published

Ownership not asserted

The canonical public record includes at least one active security listing.

Inspect status source
Legal name
VERTEX PHARMACEUTICALS INC / MA
Inspect source
Jurisdiction
MA
Inspect source
Sector
Healthcare
Inspect source

Source-backed public-market identity

Index memberships

Current memberships are attached to a specific security and listing. Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.

S&P 500S&P Dow Jones Indices · NASDAQ: VRTXcurrentEvidence
Effective
Sep 23, 2013
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
inferred
Nasdaq-100Nasdaq · NASDAQ: VRTXcurrentEvidence
Effective
Sep 1, 2026
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
exchange verified

As of Sep 13, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted.

Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Governance

Board leadership, management, committees and their disclosed responsibilities.

Canonical AEGIS identity graph

Executive leadership

Current, confirmed roles are shown only when both the person Profile and supporting source record satisfy the public projection boundary. A missing role is not evidence that it does not exist.

Executive team

10 public records
AK
Amit K. Sachdev, J.D.

Executive Vice President, Chief Patient and External Affairs Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
Charles F. Wagner, Jr. portrait
Charles F. Wagner, Jr.

Executive Vice President, Chief Operating and Financial Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
Craig B. Thompson, M.D. portrait
Craig B. Thompson, M.D.

Executive Vice President, Global Medicines Development and Medical Affairs, and Chief Medical Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DJ
Duncan J. McKechnie

Executive Vice President, Chief Commercial Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
EM
E. Morrow Morrey Atkinson, III, Ph.D.

Executive Vice President, Chief Technical Operations Officer, Head of Biopharmaceutical Science and Manufacturing Operations

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
JB
Jonathan Biller, J.D.

Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
KC
Kristen C. Ambrose, CPA

Senior Vice President, Chief Accounting Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
MB
Mark Bunnage, D.Phil

Executive Vice President, Chief Scientific Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
ON
Ourania Nia Tatsis, Ph.D.

Executive Vice President, Chief Regulatory and Quality Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
RK
Reshma Kewalramani, M.D.

Chief Executive Officer and President

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
VRTX executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026

Governance leadership

Boards & Committees

Board and committee assignments appear only when the canonical public projection retains a current role and supporting source. Unpublished records are not interpreted as absence.

Record as of Sep 13, 2026. Chair, executive office, Lead Independent Director and committee appointments retain their separate source roles. A complete board composition denominator and committee charters are not established by a partial roster.

Board roles

11 public records

Disclosure boundary

Governance and independence

Only current, confirmed leadership roles with public evidence are included in the canonical projection.

RecordStatusAuthorityEffective

Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.

Investors & capital

Ownership, funding and dated financial information.

Ownership disclosures retain their reporting dates and source types. Economic ownership, investment discretion and voting authority are distinct. Activism and settlement-dated short interest are not established by holdings or short-sale volume.

Risk & assurance

Disclosed coverage, ratings and assurance scope.

Credit-rating evidence, where published, appears in the Governance and Basis sections with its source and reporting date. Insurance coverage, cyber ratings and assurance reports require their own issuer, scope, date and usage rights. Indemnification does not establish insurance coverage.

Ecosystem

Published relationships and related records.

Connections

Explore the roles, education and affiliations published in this record.

Alan Garber

Open Alan Garber profile →
Alan GarberAlan GarberAmit K. Sachdev, J…Amit K. Sachdev, J.D.Bruce SachsBruce SachsCharles F. Wagner,…Charles F. Wagner, Jr.Craig B. Thompson,…Craig B. Thompson, M.D.Diana McKenzieDiana McKenzieDuncan J. McKechnieDuncan J. McKechnieE. Morrow Morrey A…E. Morrow Morrey Atkinson, III, Ph.D.Jeffrey M. LeidenJeffrey M. LeidenJennifer SchneiderJennifer SchneiderJonathan Biller, J…Jonathan Biller, J.D.Kristen C. Ambrose…Kristen C. Ambrose, CPAVertex Pharmaceuti…

Dashed lines mark past roles. Select a connection to see its dates and sources.

Basis

Identifiers, sources and record limitations.

Identifiers

Alpha ID
alpha:company:67a28a17-ff7a-4e42-a246-5086ab42eca9
Record version
public-1

Sources

Sources and published information

Alpha canonical company public projection

Supports Company identity, Published leadership, Entity status boundary.

Open source
State
Published
Source type
canonical_identity
Last reviewed
Sep 13, 2026

VERTEX PHARMACEUTICALS INC / MA Form 10-K (filed 2026-02-13)

Supports Official website.

Open source
State
Published
Source type
SEC filing
Last reviewed
Aug 29, 2026