Company overview

Business, legal identity, ownership structure and classifications.

What the company does

About

Walmart Inc., established in 1945 and based in Bentonville, Arkansas, operates as a global retail powerhouse, having officially adopted its current name in February 2018, formerly Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. The company's diverse operations, encompassing retail, wholesale, and e-commerce, are managed across three primary divisions: Walmart U.S., Walmart International, and Sam's Club. Its extensive physical presence includes a variety of store formats such as supercenters, supermarkets, hypermarkets, m

Sector and industry values retain their source labels. A classification provider, taxonomy version and assignment date are not established unless the cited record states them.

Stable business record

Identity and status

Ownership and listing state

Public listing published

Ownership not asserted

The canonical public record includes at least one active security listing.

Inspect status source
Legal name
Walmart Inc.
Inspect source
Jurisdiction
DE
Inspect source
Sector
Consumer Staples
Inspect source
Industry
Discount Stores
Inspect source

Source-backed public-market identity

Index memberships

Current memberships are attached to a specific security and listing. Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.

S&P 500S&P Dow Jones Indices · NYSE: WMTcurrentEvidence
Effective
Aug 31, 1982
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
inferred
Nasdaq-100Nasdaq · NYSE: WMTcurrentEvidence
Effective
Sep 1, 2026
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
exchange verified

As of Sep 12, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted.

Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Governance

Board leadership, management, committees and their disclosed responsibilities.

Canonical AEGIS identity graph

Executive leadership

Current, confirmed roles are shown only when both the person Profile and supporting source record satisfy the public projection boundary. A missing role is not evidence that it does not exist.

Executive team

11 public records
CN
Christopher Nicholas

Executive Vice President, President and Chief Executive Officer, Walmart International

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DD
Daniel Danker

Executive Vice President, AI Acceleration, Product and Design

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DJ
Daniel J. Bartlett

Executive Vice President, Corporate Affairs

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DG
David Guggina

Executive Vice President, President and Chief Executive Officer, Walmart U.S.

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DM
Donna Morris

Executive Vice President, Global People, and Chief People Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
DM
Dwayne Milum

Senior Vice President and Controller

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
JD
John David Rainey

Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
John R. Furner portrait
John R. Furner

President and Chief Executive Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
Latriece Watkins portrait
Latriece Watkins

Executive Vice President, President and Chief Executive Officer, Sam's Club U.S.

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
SD
Seth Dallaire

Executive Vice President and Chief Growth Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
SK
Suresh Kumar

Executive Vice President, Global Chief Technology Officer and Chief Development Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
WMT executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026

Governance leadership

Boards & Committees

Board and committee assignments appear only when the canonical public projection retains a current role and supporting source. Unpublished records are not interpreted as absence.

Record as of Sep 9, 2026. Chair, executive office, Lead Independent Director and committee appointments retain their separate source roles. A complete board composition denominator and committee charters are not established by a partial roster.

Board roles

14 public records

Disclosure boundary

Governance and independence

Only current, confirmed leadership roles with public evidence are included in the canonical projection.

RecordStatusAuthorityEffective

Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.

Investors & capital

Ownership, funding and dated financial information.

Ownership disclosures retain their reporting dates and source types. Economic ownership, investment discretion and voting authority are distinct. Activism and settlement-dated short interest are not established by holdings or short-sale volume.

Risk & assurance

Disclosed coverage, ratings and assurance scope.

Credit-rating evidence, where published, appears in the Governance and Basis sections with its source and reporting date. Insurance coverage, cyber ratings and assurance reports require their own issuer, scope, date and usage rights. Indemnification does not establish insurance coverage.

Ecosystem

Published relationships and related records.

Connections

Explore the roles, education and affiliations published in this record.

Brian Niccol

Open Brian Niccol profile →

Brian Niccol: Director

2025-04-24 → End not stated

Date not established · source reported

Observed: 2026-09-09

Brian NiccolBrian NiccolC. Douglas McMillonC. Douglas McMillonCarla A. HarrisCarla A. HarrisCesar CondeCesar CondeChristopher NicholasChristopher NicholasDaniel DankerDaniel DankerDaniel J. BartlettDaniel J. BartlettDavid GugginaDavid GugginaDonna MorrisDonna MorrisDwayne MilumDwayne MilumGregory B. PennerGregory B. PennerJohn David RaineyJohn David RaineyWalmart

Dashed lines mark past roles. Select a connection to see its dates and sources.

Basis

Identifiers, sources and record limitations.

Identifiers

Alpha ID
alpha:company:c744430a-ff6d-476e-a360-95674980da7e
Record version
public-1

Sources

Sources and published information

Alpha canonical company public projection

Supports Company identity, Published leadership, Entity status boundary.

Open source
State
Published
Source type
canonical_identity
Last reviewed
Sep 9, 2026

Walmart Inc. Form 10-K (filed 2026-03-13)

Supports Official website.

Open source
State
Published
Source type
SEC filing
Last reviewed
Aug 29, 2026