Profile

Identity, professional record and current appointments.

Overview

Professional record at a glance

A concise summary of information supported by the cited public sources. Missing information is treated as unknown, not as a negative finding.

Current roles
11 current organization shown on this profile
Board positions
11 supported by public sources, 0 supplied by the profile owner
Committee roles
Not establishedNo committee role is currently confirmed by the cited sources
Qualifications
Not establishedNo qualification is currently confirmed by the cited sources

Professional narrative

About

Mr. Nelson was appointed President and Chief Executive Officer in 2018 after serving as Chief Financial Officer and Secretary since 1999. He was previously a commissioned bank examiner for the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation and brings extensive banking and regulatory expertise.

Sources are shown with the information they support.

Current roles

Appointments & responsibilities

Board appointments

Governance

Board appointments, committee responsibilities and disclosed relationships.

Board and advisory record

Board service

Sources are shown with each role, education record, or credential.

Director

AMES NATIONAL CORP

2013-01-01 · current

Confirmed by public sourceView source

Connections

Explore the roles, education and affiliations published in this record.

AMES NATIONAL CORP

Open AMES NATIONAL CORP profile →

Director at AMES NATIONAL CORP

2013-01-01 → End not stated

current · source reported

Observed: 2026-09-16

AMES NATIONAL CORPAMES NATIONAL CORPJohn P. Nelson

Dashed lines mark past roles. Select a connection to see its dates and sources.

Relationship map

Connected through the public record

Direct relationships from verified facts and published résumé records. Private connections are excluded.

Direct public links only

Only published affiliations are shown here. Private relationships require authorized access.

Experience

Career history, education, credentials and public contributions.

Basis

Identifiers, sources, dates and record limitations.

Identifiers

Alpha ID
alpha:person:john-p-nelson
Record version
public-0

Sources

Sources and published information

Each item links to the public source used to support it. When sources disagree, the item is clearly marked for review.

AI and ML experience · CorroboratedAI and ML experience: not identified in the cited filingSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
72%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Board membership · Source reportedServes on the board of AMES NATIONAL CORP1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
Not stated
Last reviewed
Not stated
Board role · Source reportedBoard role: Director1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
92%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Committee assignments · Source reportedNo committee assignment disclosed in the cited filing1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
88%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Cybersecurity experience · CorroboratedCybersecurity experience: not identified in the cited filingSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
72%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Executive company · CorroboratedExecutive at Ames National CorporationSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
94%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Executive title · Source reportedExecutive title: Chief Executive Officer, President and Director of the Company1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
94%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Executive title · Source reportedExecutive title: President and Chief Executive Officer1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
85%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Other Company Role · Source reportedJohn P. Nelson is also linked to First National, State Bank and United Bank; Director of Iowa State Bank as Director and Chairman.1 source
Verification
Source reported
Confidence
70%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

Technology background · CorroboratedTechnology background: not identified in the cited filingSupported by 2 public records2 sources
Verification
Corroborated
Confidence
72%
Last reviewed
May 15, 2026
  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

  • SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

View all sources4 records
  1. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

    Supports: AI and ML experience · Board role · Committee assignments · Executive company · Executive title · Cybersecurity experience · Technology background

  2. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1132651/000143774926008067/atlo20260310_def14a.htm

    Sec Proxy · Tier not stated · Reviewed Apr 25, 2026

    Supports: Director at AMES NATIONAL CORP (NASDAQ: ATLO)

  3. SEC EDGAR

    Sec Filing · Tier 3 · Reviewed May 15, 2026

    Supports: AI and ML experience · Cybersecurity experience · Executive company · Executive title · Other Company Role · Technology background

  4. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1132651/000143774926008067/atlo20260310_def14a.htm

    Public Source · Tier not stated · Reviewed Not stated

    Supports: Board membership