Company overview

Business, legal identity, ownership structure and classifications.

What the company does

About

Alpha's canonical identity and public leadership record for CMS Energy.

Sector and industry values retain their source labels. A classification provider, taxonomy version and assignment date are not established unless the cited record states them.

Stable business record

Identity and status

Ownership and listing state

Public listing published

Ownership not asserted

The canonical public record includes at least one active security listing.

Inspect status source
Legal name
CMS ENERGY CORP
Inspect source
Jurisdiction
MI
Inspect source
Sector
Utilities
Inspect source

Source-backed public-market identity

Index memberships

Current memberships are attached to a specific security and listing. Announcements, effective dates, and removals remain distinct states; Alpha does not infer membership from company size, exchange, or reputation.

S&P 500S&P Dow Jones Indices · CMS ENERGY CORPcurrentEvidence
Effective
Mar 4, 1957
Removal
Not stated
Announced
Not stated
Last verified
Sep 2, 2026
Verification
inferred

As of Sep 13, 2026. Rights-filtered public evidence only; no redistribution or model training is granted.

Only source-backed memberships with an explicit public redistribution basis are returned.

Governance

Board leadership, management, committees and their disclosed responsibilities.

Canonical AEGIS identity graph

Executive leadership

Current, confirmed roles are shown only when both the person Profile and supporting source record satisfy the public projection boundary. A missing role is not evidence that it does not exist.

Executive team

8 public records
Suzanne Nora Johnson portrait
Suzanne Nora Johnson

Executive Vice President and Chief Legal and Administrative Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
CMS executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026
TL
Tonya L. Berry

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

State
confirmed
Effective
Date not stated
Confidence
94%
Evidence
CMS executive roster sourceMay 3, 2026

Governance leadership

Boards & Committees

Board and committee assignments appear only when the canonical public projection retains a current role and supporting source. Unpublished records are not interpreted as absence.

Record as of Sep 13, 2026. Chair, executive office, Lead Independent Director and committee appointments retain their separate source roles. A complete board composition denominator and committee charters are not established by a partial roster.

Board roles

11 public records

Disclosure boundary

Governance and independence

Only current, confirmed leadership roles with public evidence are included in the canonical projection.

RecordStatusAuthorityEffective

Absence of a leadership role, committee, or disclosure is not evidence that it does not exist.

Investors & capital

Ownership, funding and dated financial information.

Ownership disclosures retain their reporting dates and source types. Economic ownership, investment discretion and voting authority are distinct. Activism and settlement-dated short interest are not established by holdings or short-sale volume.

Risk & assurance

Disclosed coverage, ratings and assurance scope.

Credit-rating evidence, where published, appears in the Governance and Basis sections with its source and reporting date. Insurance coverage, cyber ratings and assurance reports require their own issuer, scope, date and usage rights. Indemnification does not establish insurance coverage.

Ecosystem

Published relationships and related records.

Connections

Explore the roles, education and affiliations published in this record.

Brandon J. Hofmeister

Open Brandon J. Hofmeister profile →

Brandon J. Hofmeister: Senior Vice President

2026-02-10 → End not stated

Date not established · source reported

Observed: 2026-09-13

Brandon J. Hofmeis…Brandon J. HofmeisterDeborah H. ButlerDeborah H. ButlerDiane LeopoldDiane LeopoldGarrick J. RochowGarrick J. RochowJohn G. RussellJohn G. RussellJohn G. SznewajsJohn G. SznewajsLaura H. WrightLaura H. WrightLauren SnyderLauren SnyderMyrna M. SotoMyrna M. SotoRalph IzzoRalph IzzoRejji P. HayesRejji P. HayesRichard P. KeyesRichard P. KeyesCMS Energy

Dashed lines mark past roles. Select a connection to see its dates and sources.

Basis

Identifiers, sources and record limitations.

Identifiers

Alpha ID
alpha:company:4c88aae9-6641-4cff-9a16-aad6f3f779b9
Record version
public-1

Sources

Sources and published information

Alpha canonical company public projection

Supports Company identity, Published leadership, Entity status boundary.

Open source
State
Published
Source type
canonical_identity
Last reviewed
Sep 13, 2026

CMS ENERGY CORP Form 10-K

Supports Official website.

Open source
State
Published
Source type
SEC filing
Last reviewed
Aug 29, 2026